Provost Vice Chancellor for Admin & Finance Deans Date:2-26-07

RECEVED

MAR 0 1 2007

cH,'-J',..i;L:LLtiR'S OFFICE

UN-RIVER FALLS



Faculty Senate • <u>http://www.uwrf.edu/faculty senate/welcome.html</u> Senators: Chair – Wes Chapin, Vice Chair – Ogden Rogers, Secretary –John Heppen, Executive Committee – Brenda Boetel and Glenn Potts

TO: Don Betz, Chancellor 116 North Hall University of Wisconsin-River Falls

FROM: Wes Chapin, Chair Faculty Senate University of Wisconsin-River Falls

RE: UW-RF Faculty Senate Resolution 6

At the February 26, 2007 meeting of the University of Wisconsin-River Falls Faculty Senate a motion to adopt the attached resolution was made, seconded, and passed. This constitutes notification to the Chancellor of the resolution passed by the Faculty Senate.

Recognizing that strategic planning is critically important for the future of the University of Wisconsin - River falls,

Fully aware that the success of strategic planning requires the substantive involvement of faculty, staff, and students across the institutions,

Having welcomed the responsibility to approve formally the mission, vision, values, goals, initiatives, and tasks of strategic planning,

Bearing in mind that the Administration and governance groups worked together during August 2006 to identify key strategic planning goals through multi-day strategic planning sessions,

Noting with satisfaction that ad hoc Faculty Senate committees (designated as strategic planning working groups) formed largely around the cores of existing Faculty Senate Committees were used to identify strategic planning initiatives, tasks, and task charters, and that the products of these working groups were commendable and critically important to the success of the strategic planning processes,

Welcoming the responsibility to approve the final draft of the strategic planning goals, initiatives, tasks, and the prioritization of said,

Guided by a commitment to ensure transparency and a steady flow of accessible information throughout the strategic planning processes,

Realizing that the success of the strategic planning processes were and are dependent upon the creation and maintenance of communication mechanisms such as the Faculty Senate and Strategic Planning websites, special editions of Falcon Daily, regular all-campus meetings, and special Faculty Senate meetings,

Considering that the Faculty Senate's staff resources have been insufficient to provide all of these services without substantial donations of time and resources from multiple faculty and staff,

Seeking to recognize formally the contributions of those who have helped to make the process successful,

The Faculty Senate hereby,

Expresses gratitude to the chairs and back-up chairs (identified below) of the strategic planning working groups for their leadership throughout this process;

Further expresses gratitude to the members of the strategic planning working groups (identified below) for their willingness to invest thousands of hours of staff time to write the initiatives, tasks, and task charters;

Stresses that the voluntary and much appreciated contributions of key staff members, including Joan Kratt, Valerie Malzacher, Melissa Barbey, and Debra Toftness, were, and remain, critically important components of the effort to communicate with the University community through the design and/or support of websites and special editions of Falcon Daily, among other things;

Proclaims its appreciation to all those who worked to make strategic planning successful;

Requests that the University community share in the recognition of the contributions made by all who have contributed to strategic planning;

Calls upon all members of the University community to remain appropriately involved in the strategic planning processes.

Goal 1 Steve Kelm, Chair Jim Zimmerman, Back-up Chair Brenda Boetel Cecilia Bustamante Suzanne Hagen Larry Harred Kristen Hendrickson Charles Hurt Barb Nemecek Avery Newman Kim Mogen Jim Mulvey David Rainville Michael Roy Mary Tichich Scott Woitaszewski Goals 2 & 5 Michael Kahlow, Chair Miriam Huffman, Back-up Chair Kevin Bertlesen **Rick Bowen** Tim Holleran Ozc an Kilic Mark Dan Dan Paul Stan Glenn Alexandru Tupan Matt Vonk Deb Wulf Goal 3 Hossein Najafi, Chair Jude Rathbum, Back-up Chair **Bob Baker** Tim Mary Halada Charles Hurt Brad Mogen Maureen 011e-LaJoie Library Amber Tubre Gay Ward Lisa Wheeler Craig Witte Laura Zlogar

Goal 4 Dale Braun. Chair Charlie Rader Jennifer Borup Bill Connolly George Hanson Dawn Hukai Karen Klyzcek Nate Splett Paul Stratton Goal 6 Meg Swanson, Chair Doug Johnson, Back-up Chair Jackie Brux Wes Chapin Teri Crotty Brent Greene Tony Jilek Claire Kilian Ruth Kalms Kerry Keen Darryl Miller Katie Oenga Karl Peterson Margaret Phinney Dan Scott Ian Williams Goal 7 Mary Halada, Chair Jim Madsen, Back-up Chair Kelly Cain (Laine Vignona) Brian Copp Dale Gallenberg Jerry Waller Greg Koehler Matthew Meyer James Tangen-Foster **Glenn Potts** Mike Stifter Goal 8 Jeffrey Rosenthal, Chair Dean Olson, Back-up Chair Bethany Barnett Colleen Callahan William Campbell Dean Culpepper Faculty Doug Johnson

Nan Jordahl Gretchen Link Valerie Malzacher Imtiaz Moosa Kiril Petkov David Trechtner Alan Tuchtenhagen Ian Williams Zhiguo Yang Goal 9 Brad Mogen, Chair Nan Jordahl, Back-up Chair Scott Ballantyne Suzanne Hagen Vicki Hajewski Mary Halada Charles Hurt Ruth Kalms Vignona Laine Gretchen Link Mary-Alice Muraski **Glenn Potts** Kathy Schultz Sue Zimmer <u>Goal 10</u>

Blake Fry, Chair Vicki Hajewski, Back-up Chair Hilree Hamilton Kris Butler Cyndi Kernahan Tyra Nelson Pascal Ngoboka