UW-RF Home > University Communications Home > This Month's News Releases

University Communications

For more information, contact news@uwrf.edu.

Vasavada Honored with 2010 IAFP Fellow Awardvasavada

June 29, 2010--The International Association for Food Protection (IAFP) has selected Purnendu C. Vasavada to receive the 2010 IAFP Fellow Award. Vasavada is a professor of food science at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls and UW Cooperative Extension food safety and microbiology specialist.

The IAFP Fellow Award, consisting of a distinguished plaque and recognition as a Fellow of the Association, is awarded to professionals who have contributed to IAFP and its affiliates with distinction over an extended period of time. Paul A. Hall, president and chief operating officer of the AIV Microbiology and Food Safety LLC, nominated Vasavada for the award because of his leadership and distinguished service to the food safety profession and the IAFP.

“I know of no other individual who has served the IAFP, at both national and affiliate levels, with more distinction than Dr. P. C. Vasavada,” Hall said in the award nomination. “The depth and breadth of his achievements as a food safety professional are outstanding.”

The IAFP is an international professional society with more than 3,400 food safety professionals representing more than 70 countries committed to Advancing Food Safety Worldwide®. The association includes educators, government officials, microbiologists, food industry executives and quality control professionals who are involved in all aspects of growing, storing, transporting, processing and preparing all types of foods.

Vasavada has been an active member of the IAFP for more than 25 years and has served on several committees and task forces of the association, including the Dairy Quality and Safety Professional Development Group, Applied Methods PDG, Food Safety Education and Outreach PDG, undergraduate student task force, and editorial boards for the Food Protection Trends and Journal of Food Protection. He has served as a member of the executive board, chair of the education committee, vice president and president of the Wisconsin Association for Food Protection, the Wisconsin affiliate of the organization.


Last updated: