University of Wisconsin-River Falls

UW-RF Home > University Communications Home > This Month's News Releases

University Communications

For more information contact or

Ag Sec'y, Leaders to Explore State Energy Partnership

Editor's Note: PHOTO and INTERVIEW OPPORTUNITIES: Secretary Nilsestuen, elected officials
and community leaders are available for brief one-on-one interviews immediately before and after the group discussion.

JUNE 18, 2008--Rod Nilsestuen, secretary of the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection, joins University of Wisconsin – River Falls Chancellor Don Betz and community leaders to explore the Wisconsin Energy Independent Community Partnership and its relationship to local sustainability efforts on June 20 at 1:30 p.m. in the Trimbelle Room (Room 221) of the University Center at UWRF.

An "energy independent community" is a voluntary agreement between the state and communities that
adopt the Wisconsin 25x25 goals.

“We look at the city of River Falls as a model Wisconsin Energy Independent Community partner, especially considering all of the work that UW-River Falls has done to work toward becoming an ‘off-the-grid’ campus,” said Secretary Nilsestuen, who is a UWRF alumnus and past recipient of its distinguished alumnus and agriculturalist awards.

In related activities, Secretary Nilsestuen and Chancellor Betz recently requested federal funding on behalf of the St. Croix Institute for Sustainable Community Development and the Council for Rural Initiatives and will talk about next steps.

Governor Jim Doyle’s energy independence goal is to have 25 percent of the state’s energy from renewable fuel by 2025. The Wisconsin Energy Independent Community Partnership is a component of the Wisconsin Clean Energy Plan launched by Governor Doyle in March.

For more information visit:


Last updated: Thursday, 22-Apr-2010 16:09:06 Central Daylight Time


University of Wisconsin - River Falls
410 South Third Street River Falls, WI USA 54022-5001 (715)425-3911
Copyright © 1995-2009 University of Wisconsin-River Falls