University of Wisconsin-River Falls

UW-RF Home > University Communications Home > This Month's News Releases

University Communications

For more information contact or

College Bestows Student Awards

By Justine Benzen
UW-RF University Communications

MAY 5, 2006--As another academic year comes to an end, the UW-River Falls College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) takes time to honor students for outstanding achievement in service and scholarship.

On April 25, Dean Terry Brown recognized students receiving academic merit, scholarships, and other awards to acknowledge their effort and motivation throughout their college careers.

Jessica Kopp, a graduating senior from Forest Lake, Minn., was presented with the Rochelle Junkman Seymour Award for the highest college grade point average in the arts and sciences.

Director of Faculty and Student Academic Support Programs and Director of the Honors Program Nan Jordahl presented 13 students with honors program certificates and graduation cords.

A total of 65 graduating seniors were awarded honors, 272 merit certificates and/or scholarships were awarded and 44 departmental awards.

The following is a list of student departmental award winners:

Outstanding Senior Award: Victoria Held from Whitewater, Wis. and Brianna Zemke from Deer Park, Wis.
American Chemical Society Analytical Chemistry Award: Brittany Brenner from Ellsworth, Wis.
Sophomore Pre-Pharmacy Award: Stephanie Kroseman from Superior, Wis.
POLYED Organic Chemistry Award: Brittany Busby from Park Falls, Wis.
CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award: James Herbison from Tomahawk, Wis. and Danielle Kreye from Minneapolis, Minn.

John S. Mikla Memorial Book Award: Meghan Dusek from Roberts, Wis., Joanna Mastley from Brooklyn Center, Minn., and Mikayla Meyer from New Ulm, Minn.

Geography and Mapping Sciences:
Gamma Theta Upsilon (Geography Honor Society): Joseph Ayers from Eagle River, Wis., Leatitia Knight from Westby, Wis., Matthew Millett from Hudson, Wis., Richard O'Brien from Prescott, Wis., Shaun Priesgen from Fond du Lac, Wis., Kiah Sagami from Mazomanie, Wis., Peter Tufigno from Wyoming, Minn., and Michael Zander from Fredonia, Wis.

Sigma Pi Sigma (Physics Honor Society): Matthew Blodgett from Boyceville, Wis., Ann Deml from Medford, Wis., Alex Dix from Clear Lake, Wis., Jonathan Eisch from Wisconsin Rapids, Wis., Brian Estervig from River Falls, Wis., David Fairchild from Maple Grove, Minn., Adam Lewis from Plover, Wis., Megan Mealman from Blaine, Minn., Daniel Musekamp from Oshkosh, Wis., and Joel Sanderson from New Richmond, Wis.

Sociology, Anthropology and Criminal Justice:

Outstanding Sociology Student of the Year: Nicole Kommerstad from Savage, Minn., Kao Lee Lor from Wausau, Wis., Heather McCulley from River Falls, Wis., and Jennifer Remmele from Dodge Center, Minn.

Alpha Kappa Delta (Sociology Honor Society):

Jason Hausler from Wausau, Wis., Joseph Huettl from Saint Paul, Minn., Erin Johnson from River Falls, Wis., Nicole Kommerstad from Savage, Minn., Sara Landwehr from Big Lake, Minn., Jennifer Remmele from Dodge Center, Minn., Luke Severt from Merrill, Wis., Sara Steinhoff from Saint Paul, Minn., Michael Stone from Hudson, Wis., Joshua Weiss from Cottage Grove, Minn., and Tara Zwiefelhofer from Bloomer, Wis.

Speech Communication and Theatre Arts:
Outstanding Theatre Senior: Iris O'Brien from Rhinelander, Wis.


Last updated: Thursday, 22-Apr-2010 16:07:24 Central Daylight Time

University of Wisconsin - River Falls
410 South Third Street River Falls, WI USA 54022-5001 (715)425-3911
Copyright © 1995-2009 University of Wisconsin-River Falls