University of Wisconsin-River Falls

UW-RF Home > University Communications Home > This Month's News Releases

University Communications

For more information contact or

Discussion on Political Oppression/Torture to be Held

APRIL 7, 2006--The issue of political oppression and torture is the topic of the next University of Wisconsin-River Falls’ "Coffee with 'The Times'" University Communications series on April 13 at 11:15 a.m. in the Chalmer Davee Library atrium on campus.

Blake Fry, dean of student development and campus diversity and member of the volunteer speakers bureau of the Center for Victims of Torture, will present "Life after Torture: Political Oppression in Africa."

Minnesota is home to some 30,000 torture survivors as well as large communities of immigrants who fled conflict and oppression in Africa, Southeast Asia and Eastern Europe. The Minnesota-based Center for Victims of Torture (CVT), which is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan organization founded in 1985, is one of the first organizations of its kind in the United States and third in the world to give comprehensive assessment and care to those from Africa, Asia and Europe.

In 2005, approximately 90 percent of those receiving services, such as medical treatment, nursing care, psychotherapy, physical therapy, massage therapy and social services, were from Africa.
The discussion will focus on articles from the New York Times that highlight government-sponsored oppression that has taken place in African nations such as Sierra Leone and Liberia. Fry will also discuss how Twin Citians are reaching out to improve the lives of those who have suffered from torture.

The American Democracy Project and the New York Times Readership Program at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls sponsor the series. For more information, contact Blake Fry at 715-425-3711 or


Last updated: Thursday, 22-Apr-2010 16:07:17 Central Daylight Time

University of Wisconsin - River Falls
410 South Third Street River Falls, WI USA 54022-5001 (715)425-3911
Copyright © 1995-2009 University of Wisconsin-River Falls