University of Wisconsin-River Falls

UW-RF Home > University Communications Home > This Month's News Releases

University Communications

News Source

CBE Names Spring Award Recipients

By Kari Johnson
UW-River Falls News Bureau
MAY 13, 2005--The University of Wisconsin-River Falls College of Business and Economics named the 2004-05 awards recipients April 27 at its annual awards program.

Brian Turner, Spring Valley, was awarded the Ethel McDonald Award, given to the graduating student with the highest GPA in CBE. Turner has a double major in computer science information systems and business.

Two area business leaders were honorary inductees into Sigma Beta Delta, an international honor society that recognizes academic achievement and promotes personal and professional involvement and improvement. They are Robert J. Casey, the president of the CBE Alumni Advisory Board and manager of the River Falls branch of Westconsin Credit Union, and William R. Rubin, the Executive Director of the St. Croix Economic Development Center.

Students were also inducted into Sigma Beta Delta by CBE faculty if they ranked in the upper 10% of their junior, senior or graduate class:

Wisconsin undergraduate students included:
Kyle K. Teig, Amery;
Emily Sue Koerper, Clear Lake;
Jennifer L. Mergen, Dorchester;
Derrick R. Torgerson, Hudson;
Michael J. Lovell, Hudson;
Elijah L. Wayne, New Richmond;
Leonel I. Figueroa, New Richmond;
Michael W. Bentley, New Richmond;
Lucas R. Roessler, New Richmond;
Nicholas J. Brown, River Falls;
David Y.T. Chen, River Falls;
Martin Jorgensen, River Falls;
Nathan L. Payton, River Falls;
Sharon M. King, River Falls;
JoEllen Lynn Clayton, Spooner.

Minnesota undergraduate students included:
David J. Hunt, Baxter;
Matthew S. Newson, Center City;
James R. Tobritzhofer, Cottage Grove;
James M. Pagel, Lena;
Joseph Roy Kraninger, Lino Lakes;
Kristin A. O’Connor, Mabel;
Tania Kathleen Hunter, Mound;
Brandon A. Berrey, Monroe;
Jessica L. Vetter, Owatonna;
Kelly M. Nikolai, Prior Lake;
Kathleen L. Churchill, Rosemount;
Melissa E. Lien, Ramsey;
Alison L. Kleist, St. Michael;
Senglean Nou, St. Paul;
Daniel N. Markus, Stillwater;
Esther S. Nelson, Stillwater;

Amanda Jean Bury, White Bear Lake.
Graduate students included:
Fred Pierce, Baldwin;
Pamela S. Mattila, Hudson;
Lori Dunn, Hudson;
Joel J. Larsen, River Falls;
Brandy J. Liddle, Roberts;
Michael S. Kilkelly, St. Paul, Minn.

The following students received awards and scholarships at the reception:

Wisconsin students:
Melissa Briles, Baldwin: SAC Memorial Scholarship
Emily Koerper, Clear Lake: Business Administration Scholarship, Helen Foust Memorial Scholarship
Stephanie Schotthofer, Cochrane: O. Jan Olson Scholarship
Jennifer Mergen, Dorchester: SAC Memorial Scholarship
DiAnna Steines, Elk Mound: First National Bank of River Falls Compass Scholarship
Megan Heinbuch, Hammond: Finance Scholarship
Michael Lovell, Hudson: Joseph Loeb Scholarship
Larissa Molina, Milwaukee: Gilbert Smith award for the Economics graduate with the highest GPA
Nathan Payton, River Falls: SAC Memorial Scholarship
Jon Erickson, River Falls: Business Administration Scholarship, CBE Faculty and Staff Scholarship
Tracia Gimbut, River Falls: CBE Faculty and Staff Scholarship
Martin Jorgensen, River Falls: Dr. Charles H.C. Kao Scholarship

Minnesota students:
Nathan Dahms, Menomonie, Minn.: SAC Memorial Scholarship
Cayla Schroeder, Owatonna, Minn.: Accounting Scholarship, Accounting Society Scholarship
Jessica Vetter, Owatonna, Minn.: Accounting Scholarship
Alison Kleist, St. Michael, Minn.: Accounting Scholarship
Subash Seshadri, St. Paul, Minn.: Dr. Charles H.C. Kao Scholarship
Dan Markus, Stillwater, Minn.: Africanus B.A. Okokon Memorial Scholarship, Brian Schultz Award for Excellence, Gilbert N. Smith Scholarship
Amanda Bury, White Bear Lake, Minn.: Accounting Scholarship
Diana Crear, Woodbury, Minn.: SAC Memorial Scholarship, Glenn Potts Scholarship



Last updated: Tuesday, 22-Jun-2010 16:21:24 Central Daylight Time

University of Wisconsin - River Falls
410 South Third Street River Falls, WI USA 54022-5001 (715)425-3911
Copyright © 1995-2009 University of Wisconsin-River Falls