University of Wisconsin-River Falls

UW-RF Home > University Communications Home > This Month's News Releases

University Communications

News Source

College of Education Hosts Awards Banquet

By Charlotte J. Muenzenberger
UW-RF News Bureau

MAY 13, 2005--The College of Education and Professional Studies (COEPS) hosted its annual scholarship and awards banquet April 21 in Rodli Commons at UW-River Falls.

Dean Connie Foster kicked off the banquet with a welcome address. She introduced Provost Ginny Coombs, who presented chancellor's awards and introduced the COEPS Outstanding Faculty Member. Awards were also presented included outstanding faculty, outstanding student, academic merit, scholarship, and highest grade point average awards.

Florence Monsour was named the COEPS Outstanding Faculty member. Monsour is a professor and co-chair of the Teacher Education Department. She is a coordinator in the Principal Licensure Program, which is designed to develop the skills necessary to become a principal. Monsour has also served as co-director of the Wisconsin Partners in Service Learning and the director of Wisconsin Principals' Assessment Center. In addition to serving on several University committees, Monsour is an author and co-author of several books and journal articles. She has written many successful grant requests; the largest grant was for National Youth Service Learning totaling more than $700,000.

Sue Tarr, an associate professor in the department of health and human performance, received the COEPS Outstanding Advising Award.

Cooperating faculty from area schools were awarded the following awards:
Apple Valley, Minn.-Brenda Cumming, Cooperating Professional in School Psychology
Ellsworth,Wis.-Kirby Berg, Outstanding Cooperating Teacher in Middle School; Curt Dumermuth, Outstanding Cooperating Teacher in High School
Hudson,Wis.-Julie Johnson, Outstanding Service in Social Work Supervision; Caroline Wolf, Outstanding Cooperating Teacher in Early Childhood Education
Menomonie,Wis.-Wendy Hastings, Outstanding Cooperating Teacher in Health Education
Oakdale, Minn.-Kirsten Eckberg, Outstanding Cooperating Teacher in Physical Education
St.Paul, Minn.-Robert Hatlevig, Outstanding Cooperating Teacher in Elementary Education; Carrie Asmus, Outstanding Counseling Program's Outstanding Field Supervisor
Stillwater, Minn.-Allie Peters, Outstanding Cooperating Professional (Public School) in Communicative Disorders; Peggy Perry, Outstanding Cooperating Professional (Non-Public) School in Communicative Disorders
White Bear Lake, Minn.-Kelly Pylkas-Bock, Outstanding Cooperating Teacher in Elementary Education

The following students received awards and scholarships:

River Falls --Crystal Domeier, Outstanding Student in Social Work; Darla Rosin, Outstanding Undergraduate in Early Childhood Education; Elisa Albertson, Outstanding Undergraduate Student in Communicative Disorders; Jacqueline Slightam, Outstanding Elementary Education Block 1 Student; Kristin Nyquist, Outstanding Graduate Student in Counseling; Sara Froman, Outstanding Undergraduate in Elementary Education; Marie Lindgren, Outstanding Graduate Student in Secondary Education; Sarah Soderberg, Outstanding Graduate Student in Communicative Disorders; Jeff Leslie, Phi Delta Kappa Outstanding Student Teacher Award; Lori Sundelius, Mary J. Crownhart Scholarship


Maplewood, Minn.--Elizabeth S. Erickson, Rochelle Junkman Seymour Award for Highest GPA Award
Rosemount, Minn.-Shannon Hart, Outstanding Graduate Student in School Psychology
Roseville, Minn.-Ted Welsch, Outstanding Undergraduate Student in Secondary Education



Last updated: Tuesday, 22-Jun-2010 16:21:23 Central Daylight Time

University of Wisconsin - River Falls
410 South Third Street River Falls, WI USA 54022-5001 (715)425-3911
Copyright © 1995-2009 University of Wisconsin-River Falls