Academic Staff Council Minutes


November 22, 2004


Members Present: Carmen Croonquist, Kimberly Gould- Speckman, Sarah Egerstrom, Steve Luebke


Members Absent:Alicia Acken, Mark Kinders, Gretchen Link, Amber Tubre, Sue Walton


Call to order at 2:05 p.m.


Approval of October 25, 2004 minutes.Motion made by S. Egerstrom.Seconded by S. Luebke.Unanimously approved.



Chairís Report (K. Gould-Speckman for S. Walton)



Representativeís Report (K. Gould-Speckman)

There is concern from some academic staff members that faculty and academic staff will be treated differently in the proposed 3 + 3 pay plan.


The UW System Academic Staff Representatives Council will ask that Governor Doyle and the State Legislature support the Board of Regents budget proposal and that it be applied equally among all unclassified staff.


Legislative Update (K. Gould-Speckman for M. Kinders)

State of Wisconsin revenue projections are 5.6% ahead of last year, which is even better than the previous 5.3%.The outcome of this projection depends entirely on how the state decides to spend the money.


Continuing Business (K. Gould-Speckman)

Follow-up training for the neutral facilitation workshop will most likely be held in late January or early February.Kimberly will work with other academic staff members to schedule this event.


The academic staff emeriti status document that was created last year was never signed by Chancellor Lydecker.Kathy Schultz (HR) and Mary Halada (VC-Administration and Finance) have drafted a new document for our review.We will take a closer look at this item at the December meeting when more members are present.


New Business (K. Gould-Speckman)

Kimberly will continue to serve as chair of academic staff council on an interim basis.She will do more research to find out the steps for finding a replacement.We will discuss this agenda item again at the meeting in December.


UW-RF is the host for the state academic staff conference next July.Dates have been set and Leslie Bleskachek has agreed to chair the planning committee.Sub-committees have begun their work.


Other Items

Welcome to Leslie Bleskachek, our newly elected council member.


Adjourned at 2:15 p.m.Motion made by S. Egerstrom.Seconded by S. Luebke.