Rural Workshop

University of Wisconsin - River Falls

June 25, 1996

Rural Workshop Draws Local Residents

Citizens from rural communities throughout west-central Wisconsin and eastern Minnesota attended a rural development workshop on Growth Management and Financing Development at UW-River Falls on May 31.

The importance of land use planning and how local citizens and government can become more proactive in managing growth and development was the primary theme of the workshop.

Fourth in a series about rural communities and economic development, the workshop was specifically designed for small town officials and community leaders and was co-sponsored by the UW-RF Rural Development Institute and Continuing Education Extension.

Rita Kozak, a land use planner with Williams-Gill and Associates, delivered the keynote address. Kozak discussed the purpose for a comprehensive land use plan, how land use planning differs from zoning, and citizen involvement.

Richard J. Stadelman, executive director of the Wisconsin Towns Association, advised participants on how local governments can become active participants in developing state land use policies.

Bill Warner, executive director of the Pierce County Economic Development Corporation, presented case studies and discussed business financing packages and economic development networking.

The next workshop on rural communities, rural labor issues, will be held on Sept. 27. For information on attending this workshop, or others on rural economic development, call Continuing Education at 715/425-3256 or 800/228-5607.

Citizens participating from Wisconsin include:

Amery: Sheryl Burkel, Roger Knutson
Balsam Lake: Dave Rasmussen
Cazenovia: Allen Clary
Clayton: Heidi Clausen
Cumberland: Jeffery Streeter
Eau Claire: Katie Larsen, Gerry Chasteen
Ellsworth: Ed Hass
Fountain City: Genevieve Schaffner
Glenwood City: Peter Kilde
Hammond: Jan Hinchman
Houlton: Scot Fogelberg, Camille Grant, Tom McConaughhey, Glenda Morris
Hudson: Jack Breault, Lloyd Dahlke, Ellen Denzer, James Dwyer, Brian Gramentz, Rosetta Herricks, Tom Kleve, Catherine Morris, Michael Richie, William Rubin
Luck: Richard Coen
Maiden Rock: Marvin Muhlhausen
Menomonie: Charlie Jones, Wendy Sander
New Lisbon: Sharon Halverson
Osceola: John Bonneprise, Donald Getschel
Prescott: David Hovel, Paul Montgomery
Rice Lake: Paul Buesser, Bud Conroy
River Falls: Chris Backeberg, Brenda Lavalley, Francis Ogden, Tony Steiner, David Wettig, Jan Zoerb
Sheboygan: Sandra Greger
St. Croix Falls: David Danielson, Chad Diehl, Amy Ward
St. Joseph: Carolyn Barrette
Tomahawk: Gertrude & Ron Shultis
Webster: Dennis Quinn, Romane Weis

Citizens participating from Minnesota include:

Red Wing: Rosanne Grosso, Mike Tracey, Myron White
Woodbury: Darelyn Lehto

UP to Public Affairs Home Page