Teen University

University of Wisconsin - River Falls

June 13, 1997

Local Students Attend 'Teen University'

Seventy-nine local students from grades 6-8 recently experienced college life through the "Teen University" program at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls.

The program was sponsored by Continuing Education Extension and is designed to provide enrichment for gifted and talented adolescents.

According to program coordinator Karen Leichtle, participants in this unique learning experience had the opportunity not only to be involved in challenging, interesting and enjoyable course topics, but to meet other talented young people from western Wisconsin and to work directly with University faculty and other highly qualified instructors as well.

Courses ran from June 9 -13 and include such topics as fly fishing and stream entomology, Spanish, producing radio plays, exploring the information superhighway, scuba diving, , alternative energy systems, creating beaded jewelry, bookmaking, journalism, and board games from around the world. Students also will participate in programs, including "Deutsch Macht Spass," "A Day at the Improv," and Wilder Wisconsin.

Local participants were:

Baldwin: Elizabeth Hawley, Alex Onkka, Emily O'Keefe.

Beldenville: Rachael Radkey, Jenny McNeal.

Eau Claire: Evan Loehle-Conger.

Ellsworth: Crystal Kreye, Laura Palmquist.

Hager City: Lucas Johnson.

Houlton: Andrew Grant.

Hudson: Aimee Lorenz, Jason Robey, Benjamin Zielieke, Katie Gherty, Anthony Iverson, Carolyn Kopecky, Allison Jacobs, Andrea Kondrasuk, Meghan Hanes, Leif Magnusson, Katie O'Horo, Serena Denton, Nicholas Vanselow, Nicholas Zachar, Colette Brunelle, Stacy Nelson, Eva Dossier, Tiana Trulson, Kyle Dolan, Scott McDonald.

Luck: Reuben Carlson, Curtis Carlson.

Menomonie: Jamie Olson.

New Richmond: Thomas Mondor, Abby Abramson, Matthew Parin, Katie Demulling, McKinsey Frye, Sally Hanson, Josh Svenningsen, Brittany Drury, Kara Dorr, Hillary Folz, Rebecca Derrick, Katie Stevens, Zachary Stade, Jessica Stovall, Megan Haugen.

Osceola: Derek Kanan, Chris Murray, Philip Kaltata, Charles Beck, Victoria Cain.

Pepin: Joshua Peterson, Katelin Haglund.

Plum City: Jessica Erickson, Laura Weiss.

Prescott: Benji Knutson, Jordan Hamann, Elizabeth Johnson, David Bjurquist.

River Falls: Tim Baumann, Katie Kinne, Tom Cernohous, Shannon Copp, Drew Thornsberry, Katie Richter, Katie Kolpin, Erin Popelka, Raymond Pechacek, Amanda Linder.

Roberts: Marina Pollock, Bethany Polen, Julie Ickler, Anne Redmon.

Spring Valley: Alison Sweeney.

Stockholm: Kelly Ellenberger.

Woodville: Ashley Knegendorf, Catherine Hennessy.

UP to Public Affairs Home Page