Four Math Teachers Honored

University of Wisconsin - River Falls

April 18, 1997

Four Wisconsin Math Teachers Honored

Four Western Wisconsin high school math instructors were honored at the Mathematics Association of America Wisconsin Section Conference held at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls April 11-12.

The four, Arlyn Colby of Barron Public Schools, Ann Elling of River Falls Public Schools, Wayland Forehand of Prairie Farm public schools, and Keith Lindquist of Cumberland public schools, were presented with a plaque recognizing their teaching expertise and service to mathematics education. The teachers were chosen for this award based on their teaching ability, professional activities, and concern for students.

MAA is the world's largest organization devoted to the interests of collegiate mathematics. A wide range of mathematics topics were discussed during the two-day conference. Guest speakers included both faculty and students from various universities.

According to Bruce Williamson, UW-RF mathematic professor emeritus who chaired the awards selection process, the teachers were recognized for their success in laying the groundwork for understanding mathematics that allows students for mathematics at the college level.

Keith Lindquist has taught at Cumberland since 1962 and has been involved in the majority of important innovations that have taken place in mathematics since the mid-1960s. He was one of the first to teach computer classes and he was co-founder of the Northwest Wisconsin Mathematics and Science Teachers Society. He is also a member of numerous professional organizations, a music teacher, and an actor and music director with six area theater groups.

Arlyn Colby, a graduate of UW-Eau Claire with a masters degree from Western Michigan, started his teaching career at Fennimore High School and has been at Barron since 1970. In addition to teaching, he supervised 17 student teachers, became a member of the Wisconsin Hall of Fame for coaching baseball, and is involved with Wisconsin Mathematics Council activities.

Ann Elling is a graduate of UW-River Falls with a master's degree in teaching and a minor in mathematics. She has been an instructor at UW-River Falls and Cray Academy and currently teaches at Rocky Branch Elementary School. She is a member of numerous professional organizations and has presented workshops throughout the state. In 1993, she received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Teaching Mathematics.

Wayland Forehand, a graduate of UW-River Falls with a masters from Western Michigan and Northern Illinois, has had an unusual career path including 13 years as a principal followed by a return to the mathematics classroom for the past 11 years. In 1992 he received both the Tandy Technology Scholar Outstanding Teacher award and the 1997 NUE influential teacher award.

UP to Public Affairs Home Page