Forensics Tourney

University of Wisconsin - River Falls

March 1, 1996

St. Croix Falls Wins Forensics Tourney

By Ellie Walradth
UW-RF News Bureau

Some 300 students from 13 Wisconsin high schools recently participated in the UW-River Falls forensics tournament.

First place school sweepstakes honors were awarded to St. Croix Falls High School, directed by Sue Voskamp. Three students also took first-place honors in events competition. They were: Amy Carrier, Demonstration Speaking; Matt Hoag, Extemporaneous Speaking; and Andy Meister, Radio Speaking.

Second place school sweepstakes honors were awarded to New Richmond Senior High School, directed by Tim Schaffer. Three students took first-place honors in events competition: Ellie Ronning, Farrago; Gen Sieracki, Oratory; and Tolea Kamm, Special Occasion Speech.

Third place was awarded to Superior Senior High School, directed by Linda Westman. Superior also won first place in the Playacting event, and individual honors were won by: Monika Piatrowska and Krista Hatcher, Solo Acting (tie); and Linda Walberg, Storytelling.

The tournament is hosted annually at the University and is sponsored by the UW-RF chapter of Delta Sigma Rho-Tau Kappa Alpha, the national honorary forensics society, presided by Anthony Cicchese.

The tournament was directed by Professor James W. Pratt, chair of the UW-RF speech communication and theatre arts department.

The tournament consisted of 15 events. The remaining first place winners by events are listed below by hometown:

Ellsworth: Karen Fischer, Four-minute speech.
Northwood: Group Interpretation.
Chippewa Falls McDonell: Kraig Zwiefelhofer, Moments in History.
Hudson: Mitch Harris, Oral Interpretation of Poetry.
Holmen: Tamara Larson, Oral Interpretation of Prose.
Prescott: Jaclyn Bolin, Public Address.

UP to Public Affairs Home Page