Teacher Education

University of Wisconsin - River Falls

Dec. 6, 1996

73 Accepted Into Teacher Education

The University of Wisconsin-River Falls College of Education and Graduate Studies has formally admitted 73 bachelor's or master's candidates into its nationally recognized teacher education program.

According to Dean Kathleen Daly, to be accepted as an education major, candidates must have:

  • A minimum overall grade point average of 2.5 on a 4.0 scale.
  • A high level of proficiency in basic reading, writing, and mathematic skills.
  • Endorsement of the Dean of Students and recommendations by two faculty members.
  • Successfully completed an interview with the College's Admission to Teacher Education committee.
  • As education majors, students will complete a comprehensive program of study in general education as well as extensive academic study in one or more subject areas. Education students will also complete a rigorous series of field-based professional education courses and experiences.

    Designated by the National Education Association as one of the top 10 innovative programs in the nation in 1994, teacher education programs at UW-RF are accredited by prominent national and state organizations including the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education, the North Central Association, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, and specialized national professional organizations.

    Following is a list of the students from Wisconsin who have been admitted to the College of Education and Graduate Studies. They are listed alphabetically by hometown, name, major, and minor.

    Augusta: Timothy Panasuk, social studies.

    Alma: Christal Osheim, elementary education, coaching.

    Amery: Anna Mika, elementary education, mathematics; Douglas Lindee, math and science.

    Baileys Harbor: Angela Honold, elementary education, early childhood.

    Birchwood: Natalie Ross, physical education, coaching.

    Colfax: Kristina Klukas, elementary education, early childhood.

    Comstock: Debra Freitag, physics, mathematics.

    Deer Park: Chad Eggert, physical education, health and coaching.

    Downing: Sonya Schug, elementary education, language and reading.

    Eau Claire: Mark Springer, social studies.

    Ellsworth: Suzanne Langer, mathematics.

    Emerald: Deann Logterman, elementary education, health.

    Hager City: Michael Puhrmann, social sciences, coaching; Michele Tix, social studies.

    Hudson: Tara Livermore, communicative disorders, early childhood; Lisa Olson, communicative disorders, coaching.

    Jefferson: Melissa Janz, elementary education, social studies.

    Knapp: Adam Van Ranst, communicative disorders, psychology.

    Lake Geneva: Rebecca Spencer, elementary education, science.

    Manitowoc: Russell Haas, elementary education, social studies.

    Menomonie: Kimberly Martinka, communicative disorders.

    Minong: Jacqueline Bartosh, art.

    Prescott: Ben Seipel, music and psychology, Spanish; Jayne Meyer, art.

    River Falls: Frances Erhart, elementary education, early childhood; Janet Fox, social studies, history; Kelly Liddle, elementary education, early childhood; Melissa Schladweiler, social studies; Edward Damiani, physics; Eric Latocki, master of sciences and education-elementary education; Lori Rusch, English.

    Roberts: Karen Rodewald, communicative disorders, sociology.

    Somerset: Timothy Olson, elementary education, health; Vicki Bent, communicative disorders.

    St. Croix Falls: Tammi Hansen, elementary education, early childhood.

    Turtle Lake: Jennifer Eggleston, communicative disorders, early childhood.

    Wisconsin Dells: Leanora Hagen, elementary education, science.

    Woodville: Ryan Lightner, elementary education, health and coaching.

    Following is a list of the students from Minnesota who have been admitted to the College of Education and Graduate Studies. They are listed alphabetically by hometown, name, major, and minor.

    Anoka: Heather Block, elementary education, science.

    Cannon Falls: Dawn Hussman, music.

    Cottage Grove: Paul Skeie, master of science and education-elementary education.

    Dodge Center: Marybelle Gochnauer, elementary education, geography.

    Eagan: Amber Wheeler, English, journalism.

    Farmington: Michelle Cronbaugh, master of science and education-elementary education.

    Kasson: Melissa Anderson, communicative disorders, psychology.

    Lake Elmo: Kristi Iwen, elementary education, early childhood.

    Maple Grove: Kirsten Duoos, elementary education, health.

    Maplewood: Catherine Cude, elementary education, language and reading; Steven Elliot, science, physical science.

    Minneapolis: Susan McNamara, master of science and education-elementary education.

    New Prague: Joseph Bisek, math, coaching.

    North St. Paul: Kaia Loe, elementary education, language and reading.

    Oakdale: Tara Buechner, communicative disorders, sociology; Jason Meyer, speech communications/theater arts, history.

    Osseo: Michelle Dalluge, physical education, health.

    Prior Lake: Nicole Bruzek, elementary education, language and reading.

    Richfield: Jonathan Linne, social studies.

    Rochester: Renee Kautz, elementary education, social studies.

    St. Paul: Daniel Drentlaw, German, French; Jennifer Hayes, elementary education, early childhood; Sara Monson, elementary education, early childhood; Eric Larson, science.

    Underwood: Karri Opp, communicative disorders.

    West Concord: Sara Derby, communicative disorders, psychology.

    White Bear Lake: Kurt Carlson, elementary education, earth science; Ellen Geevers, elementary education, math; Lisa Koppala, elementary education, early childhood; Susan Schletz, elementary education, health and coaching; Michelle Skorjanec, mathematics, Spanish; Michael Dougherty, master of science and education-elementary education.

    Woodbury: Jennifer Brullo, elementary education, language and reading.

    UP to Public Affairs Home Page