University of Wisconsin-River Falls

News Source

Oct. 29, 2004

State Diversity Award Renamed for Ann Lydecker

Last October, UW-River Falls became the first Wisconsin school to receive the Educational Diversity Award sponsored by the Office of State Employment Relations (OSER) and the State Council on Affirmative Action (SCAA). This fall, the award was renamed to honor Chancellor Ann Lydecker, who died in a car accident in March.

UW-RF Vice Chancellor Virginia M. Coombs attended the OCER ceremony honoring this year's awardee, UW-Green Bay, on Oct. 28 at the State Capitol in Madison.

"Chancellor Lydecker was committed to institutionalizing our diversity efforts," said Coombs. "She worked tirelessly with every constituent on the campus, in the local community, the region and the state to insure that we were living this mission.

We are honored that the state of Wisconsin has named the education award in honor of Chancellor Lydecker. It is a particular pleasure to present this award to UW-Green Bay. Chancellor Bruce Shepard was a good friend and long-time colleague of Chancellor Lydecker."

The Educational Diversity Award was introduced in 2003 to recognize the efforts and achievements of state institutions of higher learning in preparing minorities, women, and persons with disabilities for employment in the state of Wisconsin.

This year, OSER and SCAA decided to rename the award to recognize Lydecker. "Changing the name of the Educational Diversity Award is a good way to honor Ann Lydecker and her life's work and achievement," said Demetri Fisher, advisor for the OSER's Division of Affirmative Action.


Public Affairs Home Page
E-mail gif

To comment about this Web Site contact Mark
UW-River Falls Home PageUW-River Falls General Info Search