University of Wisconsin-River Falls

News Source

Oct. 22, 2004

Teachers Share Technology Knowledge at UW-RF Workshop
By Charlotte J. Muenzenberger
UWRF News Bureau

Five teachers from Hudson High School shared their knowledge of using popular software programs in the classroom with colleagues at a technology integration workshop held Oct. 16 at UW-River Falls.

Using state-of-the-art computer labs in the Wyman Education Building and the Chalmer Davee Library, and with the help of the UW-RF Technology Leadership Cadre, a group of students trained to integrate technology into the classroom, teachers gave demonstrations to their colleagues. They then engaged in hands-on learning of software including InDesign, I-movie, Inspiration, Photoshop and Powerpoint. Particiapants also developed classroom Web pages.

Hudson teachers who demonstrated software and conducted workshop sessions included: John Kurkowski, athletics teacher, who presented on creating interactive Web pages; Debra Lee, computer technology teacher, who presented InDesign software; Celeste Nelson, training support specialist, who presented on integrating technology for elementary students, Jeff Norby, psychology teacher, who presented incorporating technology in Understanding by Design units, and Susan Randall, mathematics teacher, who presented the use of the electronic whiteboard in the classroom.

The workshop was made possible by funding from the PK-16 Initiative Consortium grant, which annually provides $842,000 to UW institutions in Barron, Chippewa, Clark, Dunn, Eau Claire, Pepin, Pierce, Polk and St. Croix counties for the purpose of integrating technology into the classroom. UW-River Falls received a $50,000 PK-16 consortium grant to use for mentoring workshops.

Some 112 teachers, presenters and TLC members attended the workshop, according to Mary Manke, coordinator of the workshop and associate dean of the UW-RF College of Education and Professional Studies.

The following K-12 teachers from seven area school districts attended the workshop:
Boyceville: Jody Wolski, Carol Parsons, Josh Halvorson, Mary Rasmussen, Sharon Trip, and Steve Duerst.

Hudson: Louise Hermansen, Chris Deleon, Rhonda Austin, Jay Wollan, Sheila Fulop, Becky Fowler, Jason Lund, Janet Hoffman, Patti Steely, Judith Meincke, Connie Root, Jill Tammen, Betsy May, Veronica Guzman, Lori Rodewald, Laura Ida, Diane Meyer, Aimie Stoffel and Tara Zinc.

Prescott: Jane Hnatyk, Deb Walker, Jackie Ross, Sue Kirt, Pam Olson, Deb Carlson, Erica Keezer, Stacy Campbell, Dar Brabec, Karl Sakscheck, Melissa Miller, Judy Leohlec, Terry Witmer, Tracy Frankowski, Julie Rosenow, and Bonnie McNary

River Falls: Tanya Amundson, Teri Murphy, Karen Rodewald, Dawn Pennie, Peggy Grant, Melina Papademetriou, Judy Lefeber, Judy Seguin, Lisa Kleinschmidt, Cheryl Hoffman, Kim Pavlicek, Lindsay Burich, Mary Anderson, Jayne Hoffman, Lori Woitalla, Bonnie Lynn, Judy Siebold, Robin Kelley and Kathy Lindevig.

Somerset: Jane Driscoll, Donna Eiring, Diane Fansler-Wald, Heidi Haugen, Stacey Helders-Pevan, Kathy Jensen, Stephanie Magnuson, Susan Oberstar, David Praschak, Toni Rivard, Dawn Schmidt, Cindy Snegosky, Debbie Stevens, Melissa Zahradka and Jessica Olson.

St. Bridget's: LaVonne Wilcox, Mary Parsons and Susan Pollak.

St. Croix Central: Barb Bartos, Barb Bend, Brad Holzer, Gretchen Krahn, Guy Victor, Heidi Usgaard, Jackie Newell, Kathy Holle, Katie Aldous, Mary Lucking, Missy Brown and Myron Bruesewitz.


Public Affairs Home Page
E-mail gif

To comment about this Web Site contact Mark
UW-River Falls Home PageUW-River Falls General Info Search