University of Wisconsin-River Falls

News Source

Oct. 15, 2004

South Hall Artwork Dedicated in Memory of Ann Lydecker

The power to heal and grow through art is presented by UW-River Falls’ students in the exhibit, "In the Garden: In Memory of Chancellor Ann Lydecker," which includes a brief, dedication ceremony at 11:30 a.m. on Saturday, Oct. 23, in the north stairwell of South Hall on the UW-RF campus.

The artwork is a painted wall relief that was created collaboratively by students in child art methods classes taught during the spring semester of 2004 by Lynn Jermal, professor and director of art education.

At the time of the chancellor’s tragic death in March 2004, Jermal and her students were shocked and consequently compelled to express what her loss had meant to them and what it meant to the University. As a response, Jermal’s class created artwork that expressed their grief and individually helped them learn about color theory and painting. The students who created the artwork are primarily art education or elementary education students.

"Most of the students who created the art pieces do not have extensive art background. Yet collaboratively, they’ve created a dynamic work of art to contribute to the aesthetic environment in South Hall, as well as the memory of the chancellor," said Jermal.

After discussing the chancellor’s contributions to campus community and her ability to nurture numerous university life endeavors, a garden theme was chosen as an appropriate metaphor for the growth Jermal and her students experienced during the chancellor’s tenure at UW-RF.

Each student designed a painted "stick" which used different color tints and shades as a backdrop to natural plant forms painted in a pattern or motif. As testament to the chancellor’s positive and encouraging spirit, the artwork is colorful, eye-catching and lively.

The student artists of "In the Garden: In Memory of Chancellor Ann Lydecker" are:

Wisconsin students:
Menomonie: Lois Evans
Deer Park: Kathy Goodrich
Galesville: Amy Halderson
Osseo: Lacey Hong
Deer Park: Jennifer Kennedy
Marshfield: Megan Knobloch
Clear Lake: Darla Larson
River Falls: Michelle Lundberg
Hudson: Jessica Mayer
Matt McMillan
River Falls: Rose Samuelson
Glenwood City: Rosalie Schaffan
River Falls: Jaime Souza
Amery: Amy Spurrell
Burlington: Shelby Tritz
Balck River Falls: Royce Wiersma
Seymour: Lorri Zuleger

Minnesota students:
Maple Grove: Anna Banti, Katie Frazer
Vadnais Heights: Jaimie Gable
South St. Paul: Sara Gliniany
Bayport: Kim Hiles
Hugo: Andrea Kieffer
Stillwater: Chelsey Mogren
Cottage Grove: Becky Nelson
Elk River: Amber Orluck
Oakdale: Jenny Parranto
Ham Lake: Kelsey Passa
St. Paul: Jayme Penney
Andover: Emily Polnaszek
Andover: Julie Shuldheisz
St. Louis Park: Kailyn Spencer
White Bear Lake: Alison Svendsen
Little Canada: Antonella Vitale
Cottage Grove: Karen Wege
Afton: Laura Young
Michigan student:
Escanaba, Mich: Lindsay DeLany

For more information contact Lynn Jermal at 715/425-3375 or


Public Affairs Home Page
E-mail gif

To comment about this Web Site contact Mark
UW-River Falls Home PageUW-River Falls General Info Search