News Source

Last updated:

May 24, 2001

Fifty UW-RF Faculty, Staff Receive Service Medallions

Fifty members of the faculty and academic staff at UW-River Falls were recognized for 25 or more years of service to the University by Chancellor Ann Lydecker at noon on Saturday, April 28, at the Robert P. Knowles Center, just prior to the installation of Lydecker as the Universityıs 14th chancellor.

Recipients received bronze medallions tied with a red ribbon. Each award, which is a replica of the larger chancellorıs medallion, is engraved with the name of the recipient and an acknowledgement of the 25-year milestone.

Altogether, faculty and academic staff receiving the award have contributed 1,488 years of service to the University. According to Lydecker, the service medallion symbolizes the long-term commitment, hard work and dedicated service of faculty and academic staff.

Said Lydecker, "The recipients we honor this year have been instrumental in creating the UW-RF we know today‹its programs, services and quality. I am certain they will wear their medallions with pride, knowing that the results of their individual and collective contributions to this University are deeply appreciated."

Assisting Lydecker in presenting the medallions were Chancellor-emeritus George Field and Chancellor-emeritus Gary A. Thibodau.

Award recipients are as follows, listed by years of service. All faculty and staff are River Falls residents, unless otherwise noted. Edward N. Peterson, 47 years; Mary C. Britton (St. Paul) 41 years; Nicholas Karolides, 37 years; Curtiss O. Larson, 36 years; Ronald L. Neuhaus, Lillian Tan, Charles F. Owen and John J. Buschen, 35 years; James L. Heminiak, 34 years; John R. Spielman, Dean W. Henderson and Roger A. Swanson (Somerset) 33 years; DeAn Krey , Richard Beckham, Daniel Ficek, Clifford Mottaz and Virgil C. Nylander, 32 years; William L. Brentzel, Edward Mealy (Hudson) and Richard McNamara (Red Wing) 31 years; Arthur E. Delforge, 30 years; Mark E. Kimball, Robert G. Sievert (Roberts), James W. Shatava, Edward A. Robins and M. Susan Beck, 29 years; Lawrence H. Kasten, William S. Cordua, J. Michael Norman and Ronald D. Snell (Minneapolis) 28 years; Terry N. Halvorson, George A. Hansen, Sandra Soares, Michael V. Keenan and Stephen C. Ridley (Hudson) 27 years; Thomas P. Goerke, Larry Testa, Gary Eloranta and Paul A. Hayden (Ellsworth) 26 years; Margaret E. Thorne (Spring Valley), Richard L. Kathan (Beldenville), Mary L. Halada, James G. Thies (Hudson), Jean V. Hector Faley, Clarke E. Garry, Clair B. Brohaugh, Glenn T. Potts, Terry L. Willson (New Richmond), Ronald L. Wilson (Roberts) and Nanette J. Jordahl,(Wilson) 25 years.

This was the first time in history the service award medallions have been presented. In the future, awards will be made at spring and fall commencement ceremonies.

The formal inauguration and installation ceremony for Lydecker was the culmination of a week-long event during which the University celebrated its 126-year tradition of teaching, scholarly research and community service with concerts, lectures and forums.

UP to Public Affairs Home Page
E-mail gif

To comment about this Web Site contact Mark