News Source

Last updated:

March 8, 2002

High School Forensics Tourney Outcoms Listed

More than 300 students from 20 Wisconsin high schools participated in the UW-River Falls-River Falls High School Speech Tournament, held recently on the campus of UW-River Falls.

Saint Croix Falls High School won first place school sweepstakes honors, advised by Maeta Burns-Penn, director of the school's speech program. Second place honors went to Hudson High School, coached by Craig Lewis. The third-place award went to New Richmond High School, coached by Jeff Ayer.

High schools participating in the contest included St. Croix Falls, Hudson, New Richmond, Baldwin-Woodville, Turtle Lake, Osceola, Ellsworth, Fall Creek, Cumberland, Amery, Prescott, Pepin Area, Spring Valley, Somerset, River Falls, Plum City, Chippewa Falls, Mondovi and St. Croix Central.

The UW-RF chapter of Delta Sigma Rho-Tau Kappa Alpha, the national honorary forensics society, sponsored the event. Tara Martini, a junior majoring in speech communication with an emphasis in education from Rochester, Minn., is the president of the fraternal organization. The tournament director was Professor James W. Pratt of the speech communications and theatre arts department. The director of forensics at UW-RF is Instructor Kathleen Olsen, also in the department of speech communications and theatre arts.

Here are the winners in each category, listed by hometown.

Amery: Heidi Elkin, tied for second in prose.

Baldwin-Woodville: Jennifer Van Someren, first in public address; John Hawley, third in moments in history.

Chippewa Falls McDonell: Joe Hansen and Greg Manning, tied for second in extemporaneous.

Cumberland: Beth Ahneman, third in public address; Sarah Ricci, third in radio.

Ellsworth: Val Larsen, second in four-minute; Sammi Cook, third in oratory.

Fall Creek: Riley McNutt, first in prose; Shane Hanson, third in four-minute.

Hudson: Playacting groups placed second and third. Nancy Simpson, first in extemporaneous; Libby Harris, second in special occasions and third in storytelling; Brandon Roberts, second in demonstration; Terra Spearman, second in oratory.

New Richmond: Ericka Leahy, first in farrago; Allie Baczynski, first in moments in history; Maria Mitchell, third in farrago.

Osceola: Dana Collova, first in storytelling; Loretta Psannes, first in demonstration.

Pepin: Jessica Erickson, first in special occasion speech.

Prescott: The group interpretation titled, "Graduation," received third place. Ryan Solberg, tied for first in poetry.

Spring Valley: Steven Samuels, second in radio.

St. Croix Falls: First place group in playacting; Ian Hinck, tied for first in poetry and third in solo acting; Valarie Sabel, first in four-minute; Lisa Spengler, first in solo acting; Icha Ursua, first in oratory; Nicole Fontindle, second in farrago; Ryan Kalmoe, first in radio and second in moments in history; Amanda Mikl, tied for second in prose; Sarah Roush, second in storytelling; Angie Springer, second in public address; Bjorn Chinander, third in demonstration; Rachel Hanson, third in poetry.

Somerset: Cathy Schmitt, third in special occasion.

Turtle Lake: First and second in group interpretation for, "Hooray for Diffendoofer Day," and "Growing Up"; Becky Pabst, second for solo acting.

UP to Public Affairs Home Page
E-mail gif

To comment about this Web Site contact Mark